Contact Us?
» Mail: bukasguru@gmail.com || , 09083881148 «

LASU Postgraduate School Election of Dean Guidelines & Conditions for 2018/2019 Session
You are here in Home » Universities

LASU Postgraduate School Election of Dean Guidelines & Conditions for 2018/2019 Session

Posted on July 6, 2018 || Section: Universities

Consequent upon the expected expiration of the tenure of the Acting Dean of the Postgraduate School, Prof Joseph Abayomi OLAGUNJU on 14th July,2018 as well as the directive of the Vice Chancellor through the Registrar to commence the process for the election of a substantive Dean for the Postgraduate School, I hereby forward for your information and attention, the Guidelines and the Conditions for the Election of Dean of Postgraduate School as specified in Statue 9, Section 1-3 of the LASU Law 2004 (as amended).


The LASU Law provides for election of the Dean of Postgraduate School as follows that:

The Dean of the College, School, Postgraduate School, Institute, Teaching and Research Unit(s) or Director of Institute of the University as the case may be, will be a Professor, ELECTED by the College Board of Studies and will hold office for a term of Two (2) years. The Dean will be eligible for re-election for another term of Two (2) years and may NOT be elected again until Two (2) years will have elapsed.

The Dean shall be the Chairman of all meetings of the Postgraduate School Board when he is present and shall be a member of all Committees and other Boards appointed by the School.

The Dean of the School shall exercise general superintendence over academic and administrative matters of the School. It shall be the function of the Dean to present to Convocation for the conferment of Degrees, people who have qualified for the Degree of the University at Examination held in the branches of learning for which responsibility is allocated to that School.

The Assembly of members of the Postgraduate School Board shall nominate and elect by secret ballot, one of the Nominees (Professors) as Dean of the Postgraduate School.

Section 2.7.8 Subsection E (ix) of the new Conditions of Service guiding the Senior Staff of the University also states that “No Contract Appointee shall be eligible to contest elections into any Academic, Technical/ Administrative Positions as they are deemed not qualified by status”.


Friday, 6th July, 2018: Collection of Nomination Forms
Thursday, 12th July, 2018: Closure and Submission of Nomination Forms
Monday, 16th July, 2018: Election of Dean Postgraduate School and Declaration of results at the meeting of the Postgraduate School Board.

Interested Candidates are to kindly NOTE that Nomination Forms for the election of Dean, Postgraduate School shall be available for collection at the Board and Senate Unit of the Postgraduate School from Friday, 6th July, 2018.


If you think this post can be helpful to somebody else, please share it on Twitter, Facebook, G+, Whatsapp or Email it to friends. There are buttons below for this (easy to use too)!


No Responses Yet

Leave a Comment
Your Name:

Your Message:

NOTE:- After Dropping your comment, Wait for few minutes, your comments will appear after Moderation!!